Andhra University was constituted in the year 1926 and this 90 year old university is fortunate to have Former President of India Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan as one of its Vice-Chancellor in 1931. Nobel Laureate Sir. C. V. Raman from Physics and Padma Bhushan Dr. C. R. Rao, the renowned statistician of the world were a few of the proud alumni of this university. The university has a sprawling campus of 500 acres and accredited grade A by NAAC and presently offers 313 courses in Arts, Commerce, Management, Science & Technology, Engineering, Law, Pharmacy and Education with intake of more than 20000 students. Andhra University is the second oldest institute in the country to start B.Sc Pharm course in 1930, later B.Pharm in 1951 and M.Pharm in 1954. Prof. S. Rangaswamy was the founder HOD of Pharmacy followed by Prof. V. Subba Rao, Prof. N. Viswanadham, Prof. K. Sambamurty, Prof. E. Venkata Rao and others laid solid foundations and has won several national and international awards . The Research in the department for the past 5 decades continued to sustain high quality, resulting in 108 Ph.D. degree awards. The university has shown its commitment and dynamism by conducting number of workshops, seminars, conventions including 63rd and 95th Indian Science Congresses in 1976 and 2008, respectively. The university has also been the venue of 29th IPC in 1977 and the 47th IPC in 1995 under the Presidentship of Dr. G.B. Ramasarma and Dr. P. Dasgupta respectively.


LOC Office :

University College of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam, AP-530003
Ph.: 0891 2526143 Mob.: 7036164555 Email : website :





68th IPC Disclaimer Policy © 2016, All Rights Reserved. || Designing & Developed by :